Baby E’s Two Month Update

I can’t believe my tiny little peanut is two months old already! She went from being a fragile 6 pounds 10 ounces, to a much sturdier 11 pounds 1 ounce. I look at pictures from when she was first born and I can’t believe that skinny, squirming newborn has turned into my chunky, flailing infant.

She had some issues with acid reflux and lactose, so she was switched from the regular Enfamil Newborn to the Gentlease. I noticed an almost immediate improvement in her eating – no more choking and gagging during feedings, no more kicking and screaming, no more arching her back and crying, no more wanting to eat every hour. Now she eats calmly, roughly every 2-4 hours, although for the past few days she has been giving us a nice long stretch at night. Except last night, when she was up at 11:00 pm and 3:30 am. I blame that on her shots, though. She slept most of the day because of them and I think it threw off her new sleep schedule.

Around six weeks, we really started to implement a bedtime routine for her. Around 7:30 pm, I tell her it’s bedtime and she says goodnight to daddy. She and I go upstairs and do a diaper change by nightlight in her room. I put her pajamas on as well, and then if it’s time for her to eat, she has a bottle also by nightlight and with her Sleep Sheep playing white noise in the background. There is no eye contact or talking during any of this, which is really difficult because she’s usually super smiley and adorable at nighttime. I rock her for a little while (she has to stay upright for 15-20 minutes after eating) and then she is transferred to her bassinet in our room. Her Sleep Sheep goes with her. Most nights she will wake up when I put her down, but she is pretty good and will only fuss and flail around a bit. As long as she doesn’t cry we just watch her on the monitor and she falls asleep about 20 minutes later. If she does cry, one of us will go up and offer her a pacifier and rub her tummy and hair until she calms down. We don’t pick her up unless she is inconsolable, which has only happened once. Usually as soon as we walk into the room she stops crying.

She was waking up at midnight, 3:00 am, and 6:00 am, but for the past several nights she has been taking a small amount of formula at bedtime and then she sleeps from roughly 8:30 pm to 3:00 or 4:00 am. This is fantastic for me because it means she is in bed by 8:00 pm so I get to spend some quality time with hubby, watch a little TV, and then go to bed by about 9:30 pm. That gives me a nice lonnnng sleep. I do her middle-of-the-night feeding and then she goes back down until about 7:00 am when she is ready to get up for the day. Mommy is not a morning person, so Baby E has learned to hang out in her bassinet and watch the ceiling fan, look at the light coming in the windows, and babble to herself and me while I get to keep my eyes closed just a little bit longer before beginning the day. I’m very blessed that she is calm and perfectly content to entertain herself. Obviously if she starts to fuss or cry I suck it up and get going.

She is not a big fan of daytime naps lately, although I do usually get one long one out of her at some point during the day. The only problem is that in order for her to sleep for a decent amount of time during the day, she has to be sleeping on me. This means I get very little done because I am often confined to the couch for 2-3 hours while she sleeps. I don’t mind too much because at least I get to rest and zone out while watching TV or playing on the internet, all the while enjoying warm baby snuggles. Hey, one day she’s not going to want anything to do with me, so I’m trying to soak up the loving snuggles while I can.

If she’s feeling especially generous towards me, she’ll tolerate me putting her in one of the carriers and wearing her around the house while she naps. This way I can wash the dishes and her many bottles, or throw in a load of laundry, pay the bills, go to the bathroom, etc.

Now that she’s on a different formula, she’s much calmer when she’s awake. I read to her a lot even though she has no idea what’s going on. She smiles and waves her arms around, but I think that’s more so because I make funny voices and faces at her during the story. She does tummy time several times per day and is usually ok about it, but towards the evening she gets lazy and will just lie there and grunt. I put her down on her activity mat, but she doesn’t really swat purposely at any of the hanging toys yet. She likes watching the lights and looking at herself in the hanging mirror, though. She has also grown to love her swing. She hated it the first couple of times I put her in it, and then I discovered that she only likes swinging forward and back, rather than side to side. Also, it has to be on the fastest setting and the mobile and lights have to be turned on. Now when I sit her down in it, she immediately smiles and waves her arms around. She is much more talkative now, so when we sit on the couch together and I talk to her, she will often reply with some kind of noise – and she is making new ones every day!

She definitely likes things done “with purpose.” When we rock her, we better do it like we mean it. No gentle rocking for this little lady! If we walk her around the house to calm her down, we have to speed walk. The swing has be on full speed. She likes being in the stroller only if we’re going over slightly bumpy ground – if it’s too smooth, she fusses.

She had her two month checkup and vaccinations yesterday. The doctor was pleased with how much she has grown and said that she looks “perfect.” She is right around the 50% percentile for everything. I was concerned about a flat spot on the back of her head, but the doctor assured me that it is minor and common. She said all babies have a preference for lying on one side and it’s hard to avoid a flat spot since they spend so much time on their backs: sleeping on their backs at night, napping on their backs, lying on the floor on the activity mat, sitting in the swing, sitting in the car seat, etc. She said if I notice her sleeping on that side, I can try to turn her head, but she might not like it. As long as she has full range of motion in her neck (she does!), then she is fine.

One thought on “Baby E’s Two Month Update

  1. I’m glad you’re getting a little more sleep now!

    Caleb has always been similar with his naps. He doesn’t love them unless he’s lying on someone. Makes it hard to get things done, but baby cuddles are great too!

    The back of Caleb’s head is SO flat from sleeping on his back. I keep asking the doctor but he keeps telling us it’s normal. My poor flat-headed babe. 😦 Lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

